Our staff and students work on projects that bridge from fundamental studies of molecular biology, pathogenesis and epidemiology, through to applied studies in vaccine and diagnostic test development. They have been the recipients of multiple awards from national and international veterinary and scientific organizations, including the Derrick Edward Award of the International Organisation for Mycoplasmology (P. Markham), Houghton Trust Lecture Award by the World Veterinary Poultry Association (A. H. Noormohammadi), the Science and Innovation Award for Young People in Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (Bureau of Rural Science) (J. M. Devlin, N. Wawegama), Australian Research Council Future Fellowship (J. M. Devlin) the Gilruth Prize of the Australian Veterinary Association, the Ian Clunies Ross Memorial Award of the Australian College of Veterinary Scientists (G. F. Browning) and the Clunies Ross Medal of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (K. G. Whithear).

Our current staff and students are:

Academic Staff

Honorary Associates

Current Students

Aga Edema
Email: agelgie@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Development of an Attenuated Vaccine for Oedema Disease.

Anita Tolpinrud
Email: atolpinrud@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project : Diseases of zoonotic and biosecurity importance in Australian common brushtail (Trichosurus vulpecula) and common ringtail (Pseudocheirus peregrinus) possums.

Anne Watt
PorkCRC- Students
Email: watta@unimelb.edu.au
Project: Investigations into bacterial causes of disease in swine with emphasis on airborne pathogens.

Carlos Loncoman
Email: cloncoman@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Genetic diversity of Infectious laryngotracheitis virus after recombination events in the natural host as model of infection.

Dulari Thilakarathne
Email: dthilakarath@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Infectious Laryngotracheitis virus vaccines and latency in natural host.

Esther Onasanya
Email: eoyesiji@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Investigation of recombination among isolates of equine herpesvirus 2 and 5.

Filimon Haile
Email: f.haile@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Neutrophil Extracellular Traps (NETs) in Mycoplasma bovis.

Jawad Sabir
Email: asabir@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: The role of major surface proteins of infectious laryngotracheitis virus (ILTV) in protection against ILT in chicken.

Jose Canevari
Email: jcanevari@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Q fever in intensively managed dairy goat farms. The disease dynamics, its impact on herd performance and applicable control measures. 

Jose Quinteros
Email: j.quinteros@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Avian coronaviruses in Australia.

Kanishka Kamathewatta
Email: kkamathewatt@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Environmental Resistome and Antimicrobial Resistance Patterns in an Australian Veterinary Referral Hospital.

Laura Hardefeldt
Email: lhardefeldt@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Antimicrobial stewardship in Australian Veterinary Practices.

Mebratu Asaye
Email: mbitew@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Investigation of the role of NAD synthesis in the replication of Coxiella burnetii.

Mesula Korsa
Email: m.korsa@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Enhancing control of virulent recombinant strains of infectious laryngotracheitis virus.

Monoar Pallab
Email: mpallab@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Calf health and welfare in dairy systems.

Omid Fakhri
Email: ofakhri@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Investigation of viral recombination between ILTV vaccine strains using in vitroin ovo, and in vivo systems.

Rumana Akter
Email: makter@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: 

Sara Mahdizadeh
Email: sara.mahdizadeh@unimelb.edu.au
Project: Genetic manipulation of mycoplasmas in domestic animals.

Siyu Wang
Email: siyuw4@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Characterising the epidemiology of Coxiella burnetii infection in Australian wildlife and livestock species using existing and novel diagnostic tools.

Somi Kordafshari 
Email: somayeh.kordafshari@unimelb.edu.au
Project: Molecular analysis of pathogenicity of  Mycoplasma synoviae.

Yuhong Liu
Email: yuhongl@student.unimelb.edu.au
Project: Diversity and association of antibiotic and metal resistance genes in faecal bacteria from Australian livestock.
 

Next : Publications