Achievement and equity celebrated at Faculty scholarships function

The Faculty has awarded over $600,000 worth of scholarships to coursework and graduate research students this year.

In 2018, 189 Faculty students were offered prizes, awards and scholarships; 35 scholarships were awarded to graduate researchers completing Doctor or Master of Philosophy qualifications.

Recipients and donors met for a luncheon at University House at the Woodward, where they shared their experiences and ambitions in agriculture and veterinary science.

Professor John Fazakerley, Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, hosted the event and Bachelor of Agriculture dux Caroline Purcell delivered the student response address on behalf of recipients, having received support throughout her degree through the Eileen Mary Harris Scholarship in 2015 and the Sir Samuel Wadham Medal and Quinton de Soyres Prize in 2018.

Bachelor of Agriculture dux Caroline Purcell
Bachelor of Agriculture dux Caroline Purcell delivers the student response. Photo: Cameron Murray Photography.

Separately, she said the scholarship allowed her to reduce work hours to focus on studying and gave her opportunities to supplement her learning.

“This scholarship also allowed me to do work experience in various agricultural industries during semester breaks and encouraged my move to the University’s Dookie campus in my final year,” she said.

“The scholarships that are made available to students because of your incredible contribution assist immensely financially, allowing recipients to focus on their studies, get involved in extracurricular activities and embrace the university experience as a whole.”

Graduate researcher Filimon Haile, a PhD candidate in veterinary microbiology at the Asia Pacific Centre for Animal Health, used funding from the Dr Sue Newton Travelling Scholarship to present findings of his research in the International Mycoplasma Congress and visit laboratories and research groups in the US.

Filimon Haile, recipient of Dr Sue Newton Travelling Scholarship
Filimon Haile, recipient of Dr Sue Newton Travelling Scholarship, with Adrian Newton. The scholarship assists veterinary postgraduate students to travel to international conferences. Photo: Cameron Murray Photography.

“As a student coming from a developing country, I would like to use my knowledge and skills I gained from my PhD to contribute to the ongoing effort in controlling infectious diseases in the developing world,” he said.

“I believe the expertise, facilities and resources provided during my study will help me to achieve my goals. I’d like to meet and expand my professional network and would like to meet locals and international students to explore cultures.

“Apart from the financial reward, obtaining the scholarship shows that your efforts are paying off which encourages me to work even harder.”

First-year Bachelor of Agriculture student Trent Williamson received the William Buckland Foundation Residential Scholarship, which he said has helped him to move to Melbourne.

“This financial assistance has alleviated the stresses of balancing full-time study, casual work and the ever-busy college life,” he said.

“It has enabled me to focus on my academic goals and direct more time and effort towards my education in the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences. Myself and my family are greatly appreciative of this support.”

2018 Graduate research awards

Recipients include:

  • Agricultural Fellows Travel Award: Anna Kosovac, Pablo Alvarez Hess
  • Dr Frank Cope Scholarship for Agronomy: Neeta Lohani, Sajitha Biju
  • Dr Sue Newton Travelling Scholarship: José Quinteros Ugarte, Carlos Loncomon Pardo, Filimon Mitiku Haile
  • Elizabeth Ann Crespin Scholarship: Rama Harinath Reddy Dadu
  • John Nevill Research Scholarship: Mohammed Haronur Rashid
  • The Sir Ian Clunies-Ross Prize: Yaqing Jiao
  • Leslie H Brunning Research Fund Mary Sloane Travelling Scholarship: Sophia Callaghan
  • Dr Robert Neville Mccarthy Scholarship: Fabian Zhi Xiang Lean
  • Sunshine Foundation Scholarship: Sara Mahdizadeh
  • VW Officer Prize in Veterinary Science: Rosemary Waite

2018 scholarship recipients

Recipients include:

  • Alan Blakney Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Crow
  • Arthur Sims Scholarship: Amy Firth
  • Dr Betty Elliott Agricultural Science Scholarship: Eleyne Ferguson
  • Calluna Prize: Lanita Steer
  • Clare Leslie Memorial Prize: Fergal Utri
  • Eileen Mary Harris Scholarship: Emily Furzer, Hannah Lewis, Nina Gardiner
  • HC Forster Prize: Hollie-Marie Pogorzelski
  • Irene Rogers (Lowe) Scholarship for Agriculture: Melissa Legendre
  • James Cuming Prize: Yidan Tang
  • Dr James (Jim) Richard Gannon Scholarship: Jessica Noto
  • John and Jenny Barnett Memorial Prize: Madeleine Woodruff
  • Loxton Bequest Scholarship: Aaron James, Charlie Ingham, Felix Lim, Kon Eliades, Victor Zhou, Xiao Jin ling, Yunhan Wang
  • Nancy Millis Agricultural Students Scholarship: Bowjess Souter, Chelsea Hall, Edward Harrod, Sarah Crow
  • Noble Stewart-Hamilton Scholarship: Casey Herdman, Harriet Garvey, Taneeka Corso
  • Quinton de Soyres Prize: Caroline Purcell
  • Sir Samuel Wadham Medal: Caroline Purcell
  • Dr Robert Neville McCarthy Scholarship: Georgina Gould, Holly Lambert
  • Robinson Family Scholarship: Patrick Conlan
  • Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria Scholarship: Emily Attard
  • Tallis Family Agricultural Scholarship: Michelle Hammill
  • Vam Deo Dhar Memorial Scholarship: Sum Yee Vivian Chan
  • Warren Thornton Memorial Scholarship: Megane Greenaway
  • WH Ferguson Memorial Prize: Sum Yee Vivian Chan
  • William Buckland Foundation Residential Scholarship: Trent Williamson

Story by Stuart Winthrope. Banner image: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine graduate Jessica Notohamiprodjo (centre), recipient of Dr James (Jim) Gannon Scholarship, with Jim Gannon’s daughter Kerry Bradley and granddaughter Margaret Bradley with, by Cameron Murray Photography.