Eleanor Mackie appointed Chair of top Australian research evaluation committee

Professor Eleanor Mackie has been selected as Chair of the Biological and Biotechnological Sciences Research Evaluation Committee by the Australian Research Council (ARC).

Research Evaluation Committees review the work of Australian institutions as part of the ARC’s Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) evaluation framework. Their assessments allow the ARC to measure Australian research against international benchmarks and identify emerging research areas and opportunities, creating incentives to improve research quality. The Biological and Biotechnological Sciences panel covers the fundamental biological sciences, as well as agricultural and veterinary sciences and biotechnology.

Professor Eleanor Mackie, a leading veterinary researcher in musculoskeletal development and pathology.

Professor Mackie is a veterinary researcher with extensive research experience and expertise in musculoskeletal development and pathology in university, hospital and industry settings. She leads the Laboratory for Bone and Muscle Cell Biology in the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences. Professor Mackie is also Vice President of the Matrix Biology Society of Australia and New Zealand (MBSANZ).

Her laboratory studies regulation of the behaviour of bone, cartilage and muscle cells during development, regeneration and pathology, with particular emphasis on the roles of extracellular matrix and proteases. Areas of current interest include the role of protease-activated receptors in a variety of contexts such as muscle-bone interactions and periodontal disease, and the role of the hypertrophic chondrocyte in bone growth.

Professor Mackie has contributed to the Faculty in a number of senior roles: Deputy Dean (2012-13), Associate Dean – Academic Staff (2009-2014) and Associate Dean – Infrastructure (2015-16). She was previously a member of the ERA Biological and Biotechnological Sciences Research Evaluation Committee in 2012 and 2015.