Elizabeth Tudor named Member of the Order of Australia

Professor Elizabeth Tudor has been named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to veterinary science, tertiary education and animal welfare in the 2020 Queens Birthday Honours.

Professor Tudor has trained Victoria’s veterinarians for over 20 years at the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences. In this role, she has been known for her clear descriptions of complex topics, her empathy for both her students and their patients and the opportunities she creates for them.

Liz Tudor
Professor Elizabeth Tudor.

Since 2005, this has included visits to deliver veterinary care in remote Indigenous communities in West Arnhem Land as part of her work with the West Arnhem Dog Health Program (WALDHeP), which she founded. With her husband, Rick, she also co-founded the Melbourne Indigenous Transition School (MITS) to create pathways to greater opportunity for Indigenous students.

Professor Tudor's commitment to education extends to leading innovative teaching and includes ten years as Associate Dean, Curriculum Strategy for the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences and the preceding veterinary faculty.

Her accomplishments in this role include the development of the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine as a postgraduate professional degree, its international accreditation and the renewal of the Bachelor of Agriculture.

“This AM is fitting recognition for Liz’s accomplishments, their impact on a generation of alumni and the continuing work she does in our community and the University sector,” Professor John Fazakerley, Dean of the Faculty, and Professor Anna Meredith, Head of the Melbourne Veterinary School, said in a joint statement.

This year’s Queens Birthday Honours also included an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for Dr Denis Napthine, former Premier of Victoria and veterinary alum (BVSc 1974, MVetStud 1979) and an Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for Dr Ray Ferguson, who lectures for the Melbourne Veterinary School.