Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences Awards Night 2019

Around 350 staff, students and friends of the Faculty gathered to celebrate student success on Wednesday 17 April.

113 students received prizes and scholarships, including Graduate Research Awards and the Dean’s Honours List for academic excellence.

New awards for 2019 included the Kate Gordon-Addison Doctor of Veterinary Medicine Travelling Scholarship, established to support the travel of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) students for work placements in their final year of study by Ms Gordon-Addison (1965-2018), Extramural Programs Coordinator for the Melbourne Veterinary School until her retirement due to ill health in March 2018.

Ros Gall, Director of Dookie campus, served as MC for the evening. Professor John Fazakerley, Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, presented awards, and third-year DVM student Georgina Pritchard delivered the student response.

Following the ceremony, students, staff, donors and families gathered for a reception; a gallery of photos from the event is below.

Three staff teaching awards were also presented. Dr Laura Dooley received the Melbourne Veterinary School Award for Teaching Excellence – Academic, and the School of Agriculture and Food Award for Teaching Excellence – Academic was shared between the Professional Practice for Agriculture subject teaching team, Dr Michael Santhanam-Martin, Dr Sarah Frankland, Karen Edwards, Kaitlyn Height and Mee-Yung Shin. Academic Support Coordinator Lisa Hayes received the Award for Teaching Excellence – Professional.

In all, the Faculty has awarded around $580,000 in scholarships and prizes for 2019 so far.

You can read the complete list of student recipients in the Awards Night program, available here.

Banner image: Award recipients and graduate researchers José Quinteros Ugarte, Carlos Loncoman Pardo and Pablo Alvarez Hess. All photos by Richard Timbury, Casamento Photography.